2015 MNBA Winners Announced

MNBA logo purpleThe winners of the 27th Annual Minnesota Book Awards (MNBA) were announced at the Gala Awards Ceremony on April 18, 2015 in St. Paul.  This year’s selections include:

  • Winter Bees and Other Poems of the Cold by Joyce Sidman & Rick Allen (Children’s Literature)
  • Harriet Beecher Stowe: A Spiritual Life by Nancy Koester (General Nonfiction)
  • The Secret of Pembrooke Park by Julie Klassen (Genre Fiction)
  • Tailings: A Memoir by Kaethe Schwehn (Memoir & Creative Nonfiction)
  • Dangerous Goods by Sean Hill (Poetry)
  • West of the Moon by Margi Preus (Young People’s Literature)
  • Her Honor: Rosalie Wahl and the Minnesota Women’s Movement by Lori Sturdevant (Minnesota)
  • A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James (Novel & Short Story)

For more information about the 2015 MNBA winners, please click HERE.

SELCOtv features MNBA booktalks

MNBA logo purpleThe 27th Annual Minnesota Book Awards  Gala is just days away.  In anticipation of this unique literary event, SELCOtv features booktalks by the SELCO staff reviewing the four finalists in each of the eight categories.

32 MNBA Finalists Announced

MNBA logo purplePreliminary round judges from all around the state met January 31 to select the finalists in each of the eight Book Awards categories.  Winners will be announced at the Minnesota Book Awards Gala on Saturday, April 18 at the Union Depot in St. Paul.  The eight categories and the selection of titles cover a wide range of reading interests and genres.

  • Children’s Literature
  • General Nonfiction
  • Genre Fiction
  • Memoir & Creative Nonfiction
  • Minnesota
  • Novel & Short Story
  • Poetry
  • Young People’s Literature

MNBA Seeks Eligible Books

MNBA logoNominations for the Minnesota Book Awards Open

The shelves in the Minnesota Book Awards (MNBA) office are empty and the MNBA staff can’t wait to watch them fill up again with the fantastic Minnesota books being published in 2014.

Authors, publishers, and agents may nominate an eligible book by completing the online nomination form and submitting five nonreturnable copies of the book, plus a $45 nomination fee. The entry guidelines are available online.  Nominations accepted from Friday, August 1 through Friday, December 5, 2014.

Now Accepting MNBA Judge Applications

MNBA logoThe 27th Annual Minnesota Book Awards (MNBA) season officially kicks off on August 1.  Consider applying to review books written by Minnesota authors and published during 2014.  This is a first call for judge applicants with a September 12, 2014 deadline.

Qualified individuals—both experienced and those new to the judging process—are encouraged to apply. Learn more about this rewarding opportunity here.